Former Presidents

1972—Phil Thompson, Phoenix Art Museum

1974—Marian Gifford, Indianapolis Museum of Art

1975—Phil Thompson, Philadelphia Museum of Art

1976—Barbara Neiswender Pate, New Orleans Museum of Art

1977—Charles Edwards, Wadsworth Atheneum, Hartfield

1978—Cathy McClain Finlon, Denver Art Museum

1979—Charles Thomas, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

1980—Karen Jensen, Minneapolis Institute of Arts

1981—Helen Moss, The Fine Arts Museum of San Francisco

1982—Paul Hood, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Richmond

1983—Margaret Skidmore, Museum of Fine Arts, Houston

1984—Christine Hyer, Memorial Art Gallery Rochester, NY

1984—Dan Meyer, George Eastman House

1985—Barbara Neiswender Pate, New Orleans Museum of Art

1986—Kerry Buckley, LA Museum of Contemporary Art

1986—Julie Johnston, LA County Museum of Art

1987—Larry Wheeler, Cleveland Museum of Art

1988—Forest Williamson, Colonial Williamsburg

1989—Christine O’Neill, Art Institute of Chicago

1990—Scott Charles, Seattle Art Museum

1991—Michael Churchman, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, KC

1992—Alexandra Aldridge, Philadelphia Museum of Art

1993—Jane Rice, San Diego Museum of Art

1993—Anne Farrell, Museum of Contemporary Art, San Diego

1994—John Easley, Minneapolis Institute of Arts

1994—Katharine DeShaw, Walker Art Center

1995—Patricia Jacoby, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

1996—James R. Hackney, Mint Museum of Art

1997—Kate Markert, Cleveland Museum of Art

1998—Karen Skaer Soh, Contemporary Arts Museum, Houston

1998—Margaret Skidmore, Museum of Fine Arts, Houston

1999—Martin Duus, The Frick Collection

1999—Carolyn Nesbitt, The Morgan Library

2000—Robert Chamberlain, Phoenix Art Museum

2001—Maryann Jordan, Seattle Art Museum

2002—Patrick McCusker, Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago

2002—Greg Cameron, Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago

2002—Alice DuBose, Art Institute of Chicago

2003—Dolores F. Ellenberg, Carnegie Museum of Pittsburgh

2004—Paul Johnson, Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles

2005—Colleen Kelly, Museum of New Mexico Foundation

2006—Diana Duke Duncan, Dallas Museum of Art

2007—Christopher Stevens, Walker Art Center

2007—Joan Grathwol Olson, The Minneapolis Institute of Arts

2008—Linda McNay, High Museum of Art


2010—Jill Westgard, Yale University Art Gallery

2010—Beth Miller, Yale Center for British Art

2011—Shawn St. Michael, Art Gallery of Ontario

2012—Kelly O’Brien, Philadelphia Museum of Art

2013—Lisa M. Key, Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago

2014—Carl Hamm, Saint Louis Art Museum

2015—August Napoli, Cleveland Museum of Art

2016—Melissa Bomes, Los Angeles County Museum of Art

2017—Alexandra Wheeler, Whitney Museum of American Art

2018—Arpie Chucovich, Denver Art Museum